Tech

You can now auto-delete your location and web history on Google

0

It’s no secret that, until you explicitly choose out, Google retains an in depth report of your each exercise on its digital actual property. Out of your location history to the searches you perform on Google and YouTube, the company goes to great lengths to glean more information about you in the hope that it can serve better ads based on your web habits.

To assuage such privacy concerns, the company has announced it’s rolling out new auto-delete controls for Location History and Web & App Activity that allows you to choose a time limit (3 or 18 months) for how long you wish your activity data to be saved. Any data prior to that time will be automatically deleted.

To enable this setting, head to Google Account > Data & Personalization > Manage your activity controls > Choose Web & App activity > Choose to delete automatically > Select the appropriate time limit > Confirm.

It’s worth noting that Google already has manual options to turn these options on/off. Leaving them on allows you to enjoy a better personalized Google, but setting a time limit ensures that your recommendations will only be based on the limited historical data you share with Google which, while possibly not so precise, would still be useful.

Achieving personal privacy comes with its own set of trade-offs. But tech companies’ hunger for personal information has led to them adopting any means necessary to harvest as much data as possible, with little or no regard to safeguarding individual privacy.

Time and again, they have been found to employ a series of psychological dark patterns (link to the study here) to push users towards selecting privacy intrusive options. This results in reduced privacy for users, while at the same time giving you the illusion of control.

By “threatening” users with loss of functionality or deletion of their accounts if certain settings are not enabled, companies have repeatedly resorted to a rewards-like system where the right action (which is privacy intrusive) is compensated with a better service, while choosing to turn them off can result in a penalty of some sort. What’s more, it’s always opt-out by default, never opt-in.

Google, for example, prevents users from enjoying a fully personalized Google Assistant experience unless Web & App Activity, Device Information, and Voice & Audio Activity settings are turned on. The search giant also came under criticism after it was discovered last year that Google could still track its users despite turning the Location History setting off.

There is still going to be a lot of your personal data with Google. But the new feature, which is expected to roll out worldwide in the coming weeks, is a step in the right direction.

TNW Conference 2019 is coming! Check out our glorious new location, inspiring line-up of speakers and activities, and how to be a part of this annual tech extravaganza by clicking here.

Judhajeet Das

This Chrome plugin removes search bias to give women the visibility they deserve

Next article

You may also like

Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Tech