In a recent blog post, Google shared is has rolled out a new privacy option for Google app on iOS. This brings a ‘Delete last 15 mins’ option in the app that lets you quickly clear your Web and app activity history for the last 15 minutes in case you need to share your device with someone else. The option can be found in the Google app on iOS when you tap on your profile. Google also offers an incognito mode for searching and an auto-delete feature, but this new option makes things a bit simpler. Google Expands India Cloud Services With New Infrastructure Push
As of now, this feature is only available on iOS and Android users will get it later this year. We were able to spot the shortcut on Google app version 167.0.382489606.
On iOS and Android, the Google app provides an auto-delete feature that allows you to specify how often your search history is removed. Google has launched a new privacy tool that allows users to remove their stored search history from the previous 15 minutes. On iOS, the functionality is accessible in the Google app, and Android devices will get it later this year. The functionality was initially revealed in May at Google I/O and is now available on iOS. This is important if you share your cellphone with others and don’t want to manually wipe history from the settings. If the option is set on, the Google app can also erase search activity every 3,18, or 36 months.
What is the best phone to buy right now? We discussed this on Orbital, the Gadgets 360 podcast. Orbital is available on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Amazon Music and wherever you get your podcasts. For the latest tech news and reviews, follow Gadgets 360 on Twitter, Facebook, and Google News. For the latest videos on gadgets and tech, subscribe to our YouTube channel.
Twitter Fleets to Shut Down on August 3: Here Are Other Features It Killed
For those unaware, Google lets you turn on or off saving Web and app activity on Google sites and apps on both iOS and Android. If you have this feature turned on, there is an auto-delete feature that gives you three options — 3 months, 18 months, and 36 months. This means the search history will be cleared every 3, 18, or 36 months. By default, it is set to 18 months, but you can change it by heading to the Google app, tapping on your profile icon and then Search history. Here you should see the Auto-delete feature wherein you can select the duration. Regardless of the auto-delete feature, you can manually delete your Web and app activity at any time.