Google removes Trusted Contacts app from Play Store, App Store 

Google has removed its Trusted Contacts app from the Google Play Store and Apple App Store. The app was launched in 2016 and allowed users to share their location and device activity with selected contacts. Google will discontinue support for the app starting December 1st. Previously, the search giant got rid of Google Latitude and Google+ location sharing.

“More than three years ago, we launched the Trusted Contacts app as a way to help people stay on top of where their loved ones are. Since then, we’ve integrated this functionality directly into Google Maps with location sharing, making even easier to share your real-time location with trusted friends and family, ”Google said in an email received from The Verge.

“As a result, the Trusted Contacts app will be removed from the App Store and Play Store today and will no longer be supported after December 1, 2020. If the app is installed on your device, you can continue using it until then. You have created contacts trust, you can download them from the trusted contacts page until December 1, 2020. After that date, the Trusted contacts app will no longer work and your trusted contacts will not be able to see the live location you are sharing with them from the app ” , further added the message.

Trusted Contacts was initially only made available for Android users, but was also launched for iPhone users. The app may allow a user to find their family member even if they don’t respond. It not only allowed users to add phone numbers of selected contacts, but also to share the location with those contacts if a user felt they needed help. However, now Google wants its users to become familiar with the new location sharing feature it has added to Google Maps.

The app was launched in 2016 and allowed users to share their location and device activity with selected contacts.

News Underline:

  • Google has removed its Trusted Contacts app from the App Stores.
  • Google will discontinue support for the app on December 1st.
  • The app allowed users to share their location and device activity with selected contacts.